When I was a kid, my family lived in Louisiana for a little while. My dad was born and raised there and when in was four, we moved there. I spent countless hours with my cousin Angela, playing with her Barbie dream house (seriously, I was so jealous), watching her eat ketchup sandwiches in bed before she fell asleep, swimming in the murky waters of Caddy Lake, making mosques out of the black sludgy mud on the bottom…
Then we moved back north and my times with her were contained to annual summer visits. Years went by and she started her family, I started mine. We went a long time without seeing each other. Until we got together in Nashville this past fall I never realized how much I missed her. So when we had a chance to take a minor detour this trip to see her in Jackson, Mississippi, we took it 

image

Angela and me

After our short setback in illinois with the bad starter we were back on the road by 9 am this morning. We were able to make it to Goshen Springs Campground on the Ross Barnett Reservoir in Jackson shortly before sunset.

image

Our waterfront site at Goshen Springs.

The next morning I was awakened by a rooster crowing. In the campground. I sent Angela a text message:

image

Coon ass was a term my granddaddy used to use. It refers to people of Cajun background and I was always told it meant “coon asses” would eat the ass end of a coon.

Angela invited us to a crawfish boil at her in law’s house. I was so excited. I have been to boils before but this was Matt and jake’s first time.

image

All the ingredients for the boil.

image

What 100 lbs of crawfish look like.

image

image

image

The kids playing with the crawfish.

image

Angela’s husband Michael cooking.

image

Yum!  My favorite is still the corn and potatoes. Lots of flavor.

image

Jake even got Angela to shuck for him.

image

If you are really adventurous you suck the heads. I can never bring myself to do it.

image

Jake with angela’s daughters.

image

Mia and Madden

image

Madden after she enjoyed some jello.

We had to leave by late afternoon to head to our campsite in Florida. Saying goodbye was hard. When we left Nashville last fall I sent a text to angela and my other cousin that they had to pinky promise we wouldn’t go that long without seeing each other again. They sent this back to me:

image

So thankful for promises kept.

Florida bound…until tomorrow.

